Vehicle Management For Fleets

Overview

This tool allows the fleet manager to upload or delete VINs and request or revoke consent. VINs that have provided consent, are eligible to receive Get Vehicle Status.

The tool has 2 formats:

  1. UI
  2. API

For API format - download this collection download this collection or check the API reference pages

Vehicle Statuses

A vehicle has 3 statuses:

VIN status

Description

Pending

Pending approval from Otonomo and the provider.

Consented

VIN is consented by both Otonomo and the provider

Revoked

Consented VIN was revoked by either Otonomo, the provider or the consumer

Please refer to the following table for each status and the possible actions:

Status / Following action

To Revoke

To Delete

To Request Consent

Pending

X

V

X

Consented

V>> status changed to Revoked

V

X

Revoked

X

V

V >> status changed to Pending

See more details below.

Upload New VINs

You can upload new VINs to a specific Workspace in the Vehicle Management tool.

📘

Please Note

There is an option to include the odometer measured value when adding a new VIN

Please note: VIN length should be 16 or 17 characters.

Once a VIN was uploaded, it will receive status Pending. The process will include an approval from both Otonomo and the provider.
Once both approvals are given, the VIN’s status will be changed from Pending to Consented.
If a vehicle was deleted and added again, it will automatically enter with status Pending even if it had provided consent in the past.

Delete VINs

📘

VIN Deletion

In case a VIN was deleted from the platform - the data is no longer available for consumption or visible in the UI.
You can re-upload the VIN to recover the data consumption.

You can delete VINs from a Workspace in the Vehicle Management tool:

  1. Press on the 3 dots symbol next to the VIN
  1. Choose the Delete option

Now press the DELETE button to confirm and complete the VIN deletion

The deleted vehicles can be in either status Pending, Consented or Revoked.

Once a VIN was deleted, you won’t be able to see it in the list of vehicles.

Revoke VIN’s consent

📘

VIN Revoke

In case a VIN was revoked via the platform - the vehicle is still visible in the platform but the data is no longer available for consumption since the vehicle is not consented anymore (both current status and historical data)

You can revoke VIN which is in status Consented.

  1. Press on the 3 dots symbol next to the VIN
  1. Choose the Revoke option

Now press the APPROVE button to confirm and complete the VIN revoke action.

Once revoked, the VIN’s status will change to Revoked.

Request VIN’s consent

You can request consent for VIN which is in status Revoked.
1. Press on the 3 dots symbol next to the VIN

  1. Choose the Consent option

Now Press APPROVE button to confirm and complete the VIN re-consent action

The VIN will have to go though the approval chain once again.


Did this page help you?